Board of Management at Gurraneasig National School

Chairperson: Ms Mary O’Driscoll

Secretary & Principal: Ms Maeve Tighe

Patrons Nominee: Ms Ann Madden

Teachers Nominee: Ms Laura White

Parents Nominee: Mr Jonny Vincent

Treasurer & Community Nominee: Ms Ursula McCloskey

Community Nominee: Mr Hugh Barry

Overview of the Board of Management

Boards of management of primary schools are appointed for a four year term. The term of office for new boards of management is from 1 December 2023 to 30 November 2027.

The Board’s main function is to manage the school on behalf of the patron, for the benefit of the students and to ensure an appropriate education for each student at the school. The board is accountable to the patron and the Minister for Education and Skills.

All boards of management of primary schools assuming office from 1 December 2023 onwards are required to adhere to the provisions of the Governance Manual for Primary Schools 2023 – 2027. This contains an overview of the roles and responsibilities of the Board and the various rules regarding the composition and operation of Boards.